top of page

Monday - 4/16 - Sally Bartos

Monday we hit the road my first stop was to meet Sally Bartos, a local artist. 

The visit was short and sweet. If you’ve seen Sally’s works you’ll notice what a talent and eye she has for colors and patterns. 

She brought a couple paintings for me to view — all were wonderful representations of her recent style of vibrant, southwestern scenes. 

I asked Sally a few questions to get her perspective. 

Sally’s favorite piece of artwork she has created recently was her “On Blue Mountain”, which was a blue piece with horses with a gorgeous underlay of metallic paints. She regretted selling the piece, because she enjoyed it. 

She said her influences were VanGogh for his texture and Gauguin “.. they don’t influence other than to be bold with colors and be bold with strokes.”

Sally doesn’t have a favorite tool to complete her work, and uses basic house hold items for palettes. We both discussed the gratification of peeling acrylics off an overused palette. 

She works at home from her kitchen table. “My kitchen is in the center of my home and as a Mom I am the center of my home.” 

When asked if she had a favorite process to her painting. She said she enjoys putting the clear glaze coating into a finished piece. She likes the look of it and it makes her think of candy. 

I asked how and why she started making art: 

“I remember when I was little, my mother laid out pencils. I picked one up made a line on the paper and I was hooked. All of my family are artists. We all did art.”

Finally— one last important question since I am a traveling artist: 

I asked Sally if she could travel anywhere as an artist, where would she travel? 

Sally would love to travel to South America and Mexico. She did not have a particular region in mind, but she loved “the brilliant color, it’s organic, thick and native.”

Thank you again to Sally Bartos for sharing her story and artwork with me. 

Sally’s artwork can be viewed on her Facebook page: Sally Bartos fine art

Photo Credit to Sally Bartos 


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page