top of page

Long lost niece & nephew

I visited the folk art museum back in 2011 and my mind was perpetually blown. It was so much to take in that my cameras memory was quickly eaten up. I remember in particular a very kind older man with a white beard who sat at the front desk. I know we small chatted for a while during our last visit, but I can’t recall the specifics. 

The old man was still there in his rightful designated place at the desk. We went to pay our admission fee and the old man said “Well, what brings you here today? The special exhibit?” I responded “Yes, and we’re here to view the museum again.” Expecting him to give me a total price, he instead said, “Well enjoy the museum, my long lost niece and nephew.” And with a wink and thank you we were off to explore.

Thank you, long lost uncle. 

And anyone who knows me knows I can’t pass up an interactive exhibit... for kids, or not. 

Here’s a bigger than life Peruvian hat. The artist collects plastic and garbage to create larger than life pieces to help show the impact we have on our environment, and how small things really add up. 

The museum had lots of great exhibits promoting textiles, Latin American artwork inspired by modern day events, and tramp/wooden folk art. 

It was a very enlightening experience and full of inspiration. Even though I had previously seen the permanent exhibit, I still picked up inspiration from different places. These were only a tiny fraction of the pictures taken. 


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page